Month: April 2012

  • Spring 2012 Anime Season

    Been a while since I did one of these, huh? For reasons unknown to me, I was suddenly inspired to momentarily wake from my slumber and present my thoughts on the current anime season. Maybe the end of the world really is coming…

    As usual, I will present my thoughts on the series I am following (or followed) in the order of precedence.

    Nazo no Kanojo X
    Genre: romantic-comedy (fingers crossed, both hands!)


    All the subtly and grace of a freight locomotive

    Following the first episode of this series, I came to a startling revelation: the Japanese are weird! Okay, that statement may not be entirely true. I have long known the Japanese are weird, so it was hardly a startling revelation. The story is a simple one: boy meets girl, boy fancies girl, boy tastes girl’s puddle of nap-spit, boy develops crippling addiction to girl’s spit, boy and girl agree to start dating. Y’know, your standard rom-com formula. The art style seems amateurish, but the hook was kooky enough to capture my interest. I have my own theory about what is going on, but it has yet to be explicitly stated.

    Sankarea
    Genre: romantic-comedy


    Their relationship became a little strained after the rape.
    Is it strange that the most vanilla rom-com of the season is about zombies? On the outside, we have an odd couple consisting of a mentally abused rich-girl getting together, presumably, with a horror movie geek with a ridiculous Astro Boy haircut. On the inside, the girl dies or something and comes back as a zombie. Can’t say for sure since I’m only two episodes in and it hasn’t clarified where it’s going yet (not complaining; I like it that way).

    Accel World
    Genre: action


    It’s a pig playing squash! Unfortunately, it all goes downhill from here.

    I have to admit, I was somewhat misled by this series. The start of the first episode led me to think it was a delightful character piece. A fatty fat-head with low self-worth spends much of his time escaping reality with a highly advance Second Life clone. There, he meets the most popular girl in the school who introduces him to a special app that allows his brain to function at an Accelerated pace, making the World slow down (see what they did there?). Now, I was hoping the series would continue with him using this power to slowly crawl out of his depression and solve his worldly problems to become something more. Instead, it seems to have turned into some crummy action series. D’oh well…

    Acchi Kocchi
    Genre: slice-of-life


    Those faces that just want to make me go “NO!”

    Your Honor, I confess. I did not watch more than ten minutes of this series. In my defence, I feared that if I watched any more, my brain would slither out of my ear and skip town for its own safety. It seems that with every passing year, slice-of-life series become ever more vacuous and I fear it is beginning to reach a sort of singularity. By this time next year, I am sure the every slice-of-life anime will be nothing more than worn-to-death tropes with the only comedy coming from viewers laughing at themselves for watching the crap.

    Side Note:I want to watch the series Hyouka, but I haven’t seen an episode at time of writing.