Month: September 2012

  • Hotel Transylvania, a review

    Well, the day finally arrived. For reasons that can be best described as a weird inside joke, a friend and I have been hyping up for this movie for months. The reason was simple: the absolutely adorable vampire goth girl with striped stockings. Despite all of the warning lights flashing above our head (dopey-sounding human protagonist, modern soundtrack, Adam Sandler), the need to see this film was overpowering. Never underestimate the power of striped stockings on the male psyche. Also, being directed by Genndy Tartakovsky helps.

    I’ll come right out and say that Hotel Mavis felt incredibly short. I don’t know if it was the several randomly interspersed song and dance routines, the ridiculously abrupt denouement, or the unforgivable shortage of scenes with Mavis. It just did not feel like it filled out the full 90 minutes of its runtime. Maybe it was just how all of the characters seemed to move at two-times normal speed in everything they did.

    There was nothing to really complain about with the plot. It was essentially about a father trying to protect his only daughter in a world he increasingly does not relate with. What I can complain about is the dreadful choice of human they had pair up with our pure, goth-styled goddess. He was basically an amalgamation of every person I would’ve punched throughout high school if I wasn’t such a coward. The kind of person with no goals or motivation, and did nothing but try to chit-chat about nothing and mess around when you were trying to actually accomplish things. The fact that that kind of prick ended up getting together with Mavis, hallowed be Her name, does nothing but rub salt in the wounds.

    Since I put so much importance on endings, let me take a paragraph to harp about Hotel Mavis’s conclusion. I really get the feeling that the writers ran up against a wall and said, “oh crap, we ran outta time. We better rush the ending if we want to fit anything in!” The modern townsfolk were way too understanding of Dracula and company, the bat physics were wacky, and, most damning of all, it ended with a mind-numbingly terrible song and dance. Seriously, a part of me died that day.

    Mind, the movie was not terrible. Despite all of its faults, I still managed to get a significant number of “lulz”, as it were. I was especially fond of the banter with the wolfman (Wayne) and the invisible man (Griffin). The snappy animations of all of the characters were more entertaining than I would’ve thought, and they were so consistent that it practically became a shtick throughout the movie. All of the little hints they drop about vampire tropes made me giggle as well (Dracula does not go “bleh bleh bleh”, where does that even come from?). Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, it took about two seconds to take the piss out of Twilight. Always a noble effort.

    To sum up my feelings about Hotel Mavis, I’m going to say it was remarkably average. I can’t really call it a good movie, but I don’t regret seeing it. I’d give it a wait-until-you-can-rent-it worthy 6.93422/10.23 stars. I truly think Hotel Mavis would’ve made a much better television show than a movie.

    Now that the hype is over for Hotel Mavis, I can start getting hyped for what is going to be this year’s greatest movie: Wreck-It Ralph!

  • Theme Songs

    Lately, I’ve been thinking about cartoon theme songs. In particular, I’m wondering why anime theme songs are so bloody long, especially when compared to good, old-fashioned ‘Murican cartoon theme songs. While I usually skip theme songs anyway, I couldn’t help but notice this trend, and it truly solidified during this anime season.

    This season you had series like Hyouka, KoiChoco, NakaImo, and more with theme songs all at a minute-and-a-half long. On the other side of the ocean, you have shows like My Little Pony and Gravity Falls with theme songs around forty seconds long. That’s roughly fifty seconds of time that an anime could’ve filled with, I dunno, content! (read: panty shots)

    I can see why this is. Those crafty Japaners want to sell CDs to sweaty, mouth-breathing nerds who would happily pay full album price for a disc with maybe three songs on it if they can tie the songs to some anime series. And what better way to fill a CD’s content than by just slapping on the opening theme song and the credits music (plus one other song that they slap in the middle of the TV season for no other reason than to sell more CDs)?

    It is time to stop this hideous feedback loop! It is time to fight back! Stop buying this anime music! Maybe if we can all come together and stop this, we can bring some meaningful change to the industry. We’ll finally have shorter, more reasonable theme songs. We’ll have anime series with more content! (read: jiggle physics) Let us all unite! And while we’re at it, let us also build a time machine powered by flying pigs and pixie dust!

    (Full Disclaimer: I am a sweaty, mouth-breathing nerd who would happily pay full album price for a disc with maybe three songs on it if they can tie the songs to some anime series)

  • Otakon 2012

    Ugh… has it been two months since Otakon already? I guess I’ve recovered enough to finally get around to writing a roundup post. Let me just say that this year was definitely one of the best. As usual, I spent nearly all of my time alternating between the dealer’s room and the artist’s alley. I spent so much money! Here, have some pictures:


    Day 1 – The Fellowship of the Pole

    Oh wunderbahr! Even her SUVs are graceful!

    DAWN OF THE FIRST DAY – 72 hours remain

    Thanks for standing still, wanker!

    Hudda hudda hu!

    Continue reading